Kazi na Sikukuu

Likizo yenye malipo

The Employment and Labour Relations Act 2004 provides for annual leave on completion of a year of continuous service with an employer. A worker is entitled to 28 days paid annual leave, inclusive of any public holidays that may fall during the period of leave. The annual leave may be reduced by the number of days during a leave cycle, which are granted as paid occasional leave by the employer on worker's consent.

A worker with less than six months of service is not entitled to paid leave under the Employment and Labour Relations Act, unless the worker is employed on a seasonal basis or has worked more than once in a year for the same employer, and the total period worked for that employer exceeds six months in that year.

An employer may determine the timing of annual leave provided that it is taken not later than six months once it becomes due. The timing may be extended to 12 month period on worker's consent and if the extension is justified by the operational requirements of the employer.

The employer may not allow a worker to take annual leave in place of any other leave to which the worker is entitled. The employer may also not require or permit a worker to work during annual leave. A worker is entitled to his normal wages in the duration of his/her annual leave. The payment has to be made before leave is taken.

The employer is prohibited to pay compensation in lieu of annual leave except on termination of employment or the expiry of each season in respect of a worker employed on a seasonal basis. Apart from this provision, any agreement providing compensation in lieu of annual leave is null and void. The amount of compensation is calculated at the rate of one day's basic wage for every 13 days the worker worked or was entitled to work.

Source: §29-31of Employment and Labour Relations Act 2004. 

Malipo siku za mapumziko kitaifa

Workers are entitled to paid Festival (public and religious) holidays.  Festival holidays are announced by Tanzania Government (usually 17 in number).

The public holidays are regulated under the Public Holidays Ordinance, 1966. It includes the following holidays: New Year Day (January 01), Zanzibar Revolution Day (January 12), Maulid Day (January 03), Good Friday (April 03), Easter Sunday (April 05), Easter Monday (April 06), The Sheikh Abeid Amani Karume Day( April 07), Union Day (April 26), Workers Day (May 01), International Trade Fair/Saba Saba Day (July 07), Nane Nane (Peasants) Day (August 08), Eid-el-Fitri (July 17), Mwalimu Nyerere Day (October 14), Idd-El-Hajj (September 23), Independence and Republic Day (December 09), Christmas Day (December 25), Boxing Day (December 26). Dates of Muslim festivals are subject to the sighting of moon and thus are liable to change.

Holidays falling on Saturday or Sunday are kept on those days. Act No.10 of 1994 has been repealed and holidays falling on Saturday or Sunday are no longer compensated. 

Source: Public Holidays Ordinance 1966

Siku ya Mapumziko ya juma

Workers are entitled to 24 consecutive hours of rest per week between last working day in one week and the first ordinary working day of the next week. Employment and Labour Relations Act requires that weekly rest day, in principle, should be Sunday for all employees.

A written agreement may provide for a rest period of at least 60 consecutive hours fortnightly or a weekly rest period may be reduced to 8 hours if the rest period in the following week is extended equivalently.

Source: § 24 of Employment and Labour Relations Act 2004

Taratibu juu ya Kazi na Sikukuu

  • Sheria ya Ajira na Mahusiano Kazini Sehemu ya 6 ya 2004 / Employment and Labour Relations Act, No. 6 of 2004
  • Sheria ya sikukuu za kitaifa, 1966 / Public Holidays Ordinance, 1966