Annual Leave and Holidays

Paid Vacation / Annual Leave

Employees are entitled to paid annual leave for every year of service. The paid annual leave is: 21 days for one to three years of continuous service; 25 days for three to fifteen years of continuous service; and 30 days for 15 or more years of service with the employer.

Annual leave can accumulate from year to year. When an employee has accumulated two years of annual leave, he can accept financial compensation for half of the untaken annual leave entitlement. If the employment of an employee is terminated for any reason, the employee is entitled to compensation for all days of annual leave not taken or paid out.

Sources: §60 of Labour Act, 2017

Pay on Public Holidays

All employees are entitled to paid leave on public holidays. Ministry of Labour, Public Service and Human Resource Development sets the observed and full holidays list every year. The observed holidays are working days. The full public holidays are New Year’s Day (1 January), Good Friday, Holy Saturday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday, International Labour Day (1 May), SPLA Day (16 May), Eid al Fitr (end of Ramadan), Independence Day (9 July), Martyrs’ Day (30 July), Eid al Adha (Feast of Sacrifice), Christmas Eve (24 December), Christmas Day (25 December) and Boxing Day (26 December). The actual dates for Muslim holidays vary each year since these are dependent on the sighting of moon.

Sources: §61 of the Labour Act, 2017

Weekly Rest Days

An employee is entitled to a rest day of at least 24 consecutive hours. Employer must permit a worker to take the weekly rest on such day as is customary or on a different day as agreed between the employer and the worker.

Sources: §59 of the Labour Act, 2017

Regulations on Annual Leave and Holidays

  • Labour Act, 2017